Learner Autonomy and Self-Assessment

Leave a comment

October 14, 2010 by Willy Cardoso

When I opened the ‘add new post’ thing I planned to write about what led me to write the article below and also about what came up in a series of workshops I gave on self-assessment.

However, this scenario is quite distant for me at this moment.

in time, this was in 2009;

in place, this was in Brazil;

in purpose; this was something I developed with the school I worked with;

in mind, it’s been awhile I haven’t talked about self-assessment.

Moreover, due to the MA my workstation (aka the kitchen table) is so flooded with the philosophy of education this week that I can barely think of anything practical to write about.

Re-reading the article after so long, I believe I have suggested valuable tools for increasing learner autonomy and responsibility. Of course, I also thought I should’ve written this that way or that’s not exactly how I see it now.

Anyway, I really don’t have anything to add now, so the least I can do is to make it available, and hopefully get some feedback on it. Despite the distance, I really like the topic and am always willing to talk about it. Feel free to ask questions or to contribute with links to other articles or blogposts related to self-assessment.

Here’s the article I wrote a year ago that was just published on New Routes #42 (September 2010).

View this document on Scribd

Direct download here with the super right-click technique.

The whole magazine is available HERE.

By the way, as far as I know, this is the only free magazine for language teachers in Brazil. Am I right?

Leave a Reply

receive new posts by email.

Join 423 other followers

Visit

Conferences 2014

IATEFL HARROGATE, UK
1 April, 2014
TDSIG PCE: Opening Space for Critical Pedagogy
More info

IATEFL HARROGATE, UK
2 April, 2014
Talk: Box-ticking or mind-mapping? Questions about ELT professional knowledge with Divya Brochier

HUPE - OPATIJA, CROATIA
25-26 April, 2014
talk: tbc

BRAZTESOL - JOÃO PESSOA, BRAZIL
1-3 May, 2014
Open Space: Critical Pedagogy
More info

ELTA - BELGRADE, SERBIA
16-17 May, 2014
Plenary: tbc
More info

Past conferences

BRITISH COUNCIL SEMINAR - LONDON
April, 2013

ISTEK ELT, ISTANBUL
April, 2013

HUPE - OPATIJA, CROATIA
April, 2013

IATEFL LIVERPOOL
April, 2013

IATEFL SLOVENIA
March, 2013

CTJ TEFL Seminar, Brasília.
July, 2012

BRAZ-TESOL, Rio de Janeiro
July, 2012

IATEFL Learning Technologies & Teacher Development SIG Joint Conference
May, 2012

IATEFL Glasgow
April, 2012

TESOL Spain:
March, 2012

join iatefl

Categories

Archives

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 423 other followers

