Posts you might have missed (because I wrote them elsewhere)

1

June 21, 2012 by Willy Cardoso

Rather belatedly, I realized  some readers of this blog might not have come across some other blogposts I wrote from Oct’11 to Apr ’12. So here they are:

(links will redirect you to tesoltraining.co.uk/blog)

Teacher training and development: Whose knowledge is it anyway? (part II)

Posted on April 8, 2012 by Willy Cardoso

My previous post raised the following question: How do we validate, or legitimate, the individualized knowledge we have about teaching? Answers:  Portfolios If you took a training course such as Trinity TESOL or CELTA, you must have had a portfolio … Continue reading →

Teacher training and development: Whose knowledge is it anyway? (part I)

What’s the difference in your development as a teacher between engaging in: Formal, assessed training Less formal workshops or INSET (in-service training) An ELT conference Planning a lesson Thinking about a lesson you taught, what worked and what didn’t. Reading … Continue reading →

Play as development: Vygotsky and teaching English to adults

I was reviewing an old notebook and came across the following quotation taken from L. S. Vygotsky’s Mind in Society. Could one suppose that a child’s behavior is always guided by meaning, that a preschooler’s behavior is so arid that … Continue reading →

Thinking in English or Translating it Fast?

I’ve heard many students say “I want to think in English” – haven’t you? In my first years of teaching I remember saying something like that to students too. Something like,”stop translating, you have to think in English.” Until some … Continue reading →

Sorry to interrupt, but…

Last week, I found myself being stared at by students because one student was really talking too much. This happened twice with two different groups. In one of these groups, when the one talking too much started to beat about … Continue reading →

Reflection and Narratives – Teacher Professional Development

I would like to talk a bit about reflective practice. To be honest, many times I raise my eyebrows in a wary look when I hear the word. Mainly, I guess, because I don’t think we can really tell someone … Continue reading →

Feedback sessions in teacher training

Talk between trainees and their trainer in feedback sessions is based on the view that the trainee teachers can be helped to teach more effectively through the input and perceptions of the teacher trainer; and sometimes more than this, through … Continue reading →

Writing: a neglected skill in ELT?

Take the first EFL coursebook you can reach. Pick up a random unit. Find the writing task of the unit. Now, where is it placed within the unit? If this was a bet I would surely go for the last page. I … Continue reading →

Learner Autonomy and the classroom layout

This is the second installment of the Learner Autonomy material which featured at SGI’s CPD Club and some bits also at the TESOL France Colloquium. The first part is on authenticteaching. Have you ever involved learners in choosing the classroom layout? …Continue reading →

Negotiated Syllabus: focus on doing

  As part of my presentation at TESOL France, I spoke about a negotiated and emergent syllabus students designed two weeks ago, in which we had some lessons outside (park, café, high street). This part of the presentation was well … Continue reading →

Why Classroom Management? Time for another metaphor?

  In preparation for the TESOL France Colloquium, in which I talk about Classroom Management, I decided to reflect a bit on the term and why I don’t like it A quick and lazy search on Google using the term … Continue reading →

One thought on “Posts you might have missed (because I wrote them elsewhere)

  1. Robert says:

    My spouse and I stumbled over here by a different page and thought I might as well check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to exploring your web page yet again.

Leave a Reply

receive new posts by email.

Join 391 other followers

Visit

Conferences 2014

IATEFL HARROGATE, UK
1 April, 2014
TDSIG PCE: Opening Space for Critical Pedagogy
More info

IATEFL HARROGATE, UK
2 April, 2014
Talk: Box-ticking or mind-mapping? Questions about ELT professional knowledge with Divya Brochier

HUPE - OPATIJA, CROATIA
25-26 April, 2014
talk: tbc

BRAZTESOL - JOÃO PESSOA, BRAZIL
1-3 May, 2014
Open Space: Critical Pedagogy
More info

ELTA - BELGRADE, SERBIA
16-17 May, 2014
Plenary: tbc
More info

Past conferences

BRITISH COUNCIL SEMINAR - LONDON
April, 2013

ISTEK ELT, ISTANBUL
April, 2013

HUPE - OPATIJA, CROATIA
April, 2013

IATEFL LIVERPOOL
April, 2013

IATEFL SLOVENIA
March, 2013

CTJ TEFL Seminar, Brasília.
July, 2012

BRAZ-TESOL, Rio de Janeiro
July, 2012

IATEFL Learning Technologies & Teacher Development SIG Joint Conference
May, 2012

IATEFL Glasgow
April, 2012

TESOL Spain:
March, 2012

join iatefl

Categories

Archives

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 391 other followers

