October in Review

8

November 2, 2010 by Willy Cardoso

October what a great month!

I was so engaged in meaningful activities that I want to write some things down and publish here, I’ll do it in four parts, so bare with me.

Part I is about this blog. October, also known as the Refurbishment period, was a special month for this blog. New theme/layout, a page dedicated to my favorite articles related to Complexity and Education, categories re-organized, new About page (with pictures!), and a few other lil’things. Just the blogroll was neglected it seems, but it’ll be done up soon.

On Authentic Teaching the month started with an interesting dialogue I overheard at a bank, a rather low-hopes blogpost if you know what I mean, it didn’t even have tags, and the category is the underdog ‘misc’; but the day I posted it turned out to be the busiest day in the history of the blog! This shows how unpredictable this whole www thing is, and how powerful Twitter is too, cause as far as I could track a massive number of visitors came from there.

Two days later I wrote about metaphors, something that I’m admittedly not so knowledgeable about when it comes to teaching with, but which I’ve grown very fond of nonetheless.

The month unfolded with four posts on Dogme-related topics. I’ll tell you what, I learner the heck of a lot writing these posts especially the #1 where I drew a lot from my own experience as a learner and realized some clashes it has with what I consider common sense in teaching; and #2, where I dug deeper into complexity and emergence as powerful concepts for curriculum planning. I’d like to thank other bloggers who joined the meme and tell them I read and enjoyed all (no kiddin’) of them. Special kuddos for Karenne, who came up with the whole thing, if I had a School of Blog I’d hire her as the Head.

Somewhere along the way I realized I wanted to include a different style on the blog, that should take the form of stories or memoires; and that wouldn’t demand any research from me. At the same time I was thinking a lot about my primary school, how it stifled my inquisitiveness and made me a school-averse kid and how I’m miraculously rehabilitated after twenty years – only as regards inquisitiveness I should highlight. The outcomes are two posts so far and a couple of more to be revised and published under the category Early school years.

 

Part II is about my favorite blogposts from other blogs (of course), and why they made me think.

R is for Research by Scott Thornbury, I have to write a research proposal for the MA and this keeps half of my thinking time these days and in the end I am still not convinced that research in academic ‘ways’ is worthwhile.

The importance of pair work by Nick Jaworsky, A great response to my first #dogmeme post, and a topic I really want to talk more about.

Teachers – who needs them? By David Deubelbeiss, the title says it all, why bother being taught by, well, teachers?

For those who know – by David Warr, this is a beautiful account of how learning a language doesn’t need to be disembodied and that whoever will teach you doesn’t need a bloody diploma.

Teaching Business English in Switzerland by Vicky Loras, this is for me not to forget about the great lessons I had with business English learners in Brazil which were most based on starting questions and, well, just that. It’s also another evidence that this girl Vicky is super!

Normal service will be resumed soon by Diarmuid Fogarty, because principled eclecticism is shite, and although I have nothing to do with the post-ELTchat altercation mentioned, “I want my words to mean something and I want to understand what they mean” too, so thanks for the reminder.

 

Part III, the books, oh the books, I’ve read amazing books in October, I gotta tell you. But since I don’t have the time and neither do you, I’ll just name them and link to Amazon.

Summerhill and A.S. Neill (edited by Mark Vaughan)

Chaos, Complexity and Sociology (Raymond Eve et al)

School Leadership and Complexity Theory (Keith Morrison)

Philosophy of Education (Nel Noddings)

Educating Citizens for Global Awareness (Nel Noddings)

 

Part IV, last but never least – the people. I’ve been lucky to meet f2f these great tweeps:

Mike @harrisonmike | Callie @CallieWallie1 | Emma @EHerrod | Ken @kenwilsonlondon | Luke @LukeMeddings | Simon @SimonGreenal | Jamie @cheimi10 | Phil @pysproblem81

And meet again

Amanda @amandalanguage | Jeremy @harmerj | Sue @esolcourses

And others, sorry if I left you out 🙂

 

Wow,

Mr October, you were something!

 

and yeah, just as important and already neglected, my new guitar.

spot the oddity?

 

8 thoughts on “October in Review

  1. Great to meet you too, Willy! And look forward to catching up at TESOL France, if not before then sometime in London.

    Mike =)

    (By the way, I really like the new theme for the blog!)

  2. David Warr says:

    Great summary to what was a great month for you. Here’s to November! (and thanks for the nice comments about my story).
    David

  3. Vicky Loras says:

    Wow Willy!

    First of all, thank you so much for your kind words. I really appreciate them.

    Second, what a great and original post, dedicating it to the whole month! Loved it! Found a lot of things to read (including books – my favourite!).

    I am soooo looking forward to meeting you in France.

    See you soon, then!

    Kindest regards,
    Vicky

    • Hellooo Vicky!

      I think you’ll enjoy reading Nel Noddings, it’s been very recently that I was directed to her work and I’ve found it very sensible and inspiring. I’m planning to read Happiness and Education some time soon, looks like it’s also very good.

      Hey, Isn’t it great we’re gonna meet? Look forward to it too

      see ya

  4. katia shimada says:

    Wiilly , I do not understand exactly what this topic or article mean? Could you write a brief summary about it? Sorry

    • I thought it was pretty self-explanatory.

      Here, I’m just reviewing my blogging activity in the month of October. It’s also a plug for those who haven’t read some of the articles to know about them and maybe read them.

      I later recommend some other blogs and books.

      that’s it, as simple as that.

  5. katia shimada says:

    The Colors of infinity???

Leave a Reply

receive new posts by email.

Join 482 other followers

Visit

Events 2015

IATEFL Manchester, UK
10 April, 2014
TDSIG PCE: Challenges and Rewards
More info

IATEFL Manchester, UK
12 April, 2015
Talk: Initial teacher training: challenges and innovations in course design

OPEN SPACE EVENT, SERBIA
23 March, 2015 - Kragujevac
28 March, 2015 - Belgrade
Theme: Assessment: who is it for?
More info

Categories

Archives

